Dr Akilah – Celestial Healing Wellness Center

The Natural Health and Holistic World According to Dr Akilah

5 Iron-Rich Foods that Aren’t Meat

By Rebekah Kuschmider

I recently found out I have mild anemia.What anemia is, basically, is not enough red blood cells, which means not enough little couriers in the bloodstream to get oxygen where it needs to go. It’s caused by low stores of iron in the body, iron being what makes red blood cells.

Luckily, for most women, the fix is an iron supplement (check with your doctor before taking one). Food is another way to get iron and it’s actually easier for the body to take it in that way than through supplements so upping the iron-rich food intake is a smart idea too. But…I…don’t like meat. I’m not a vegetarian. I’m just a picky eater. Fortunately, there are a lot of non-meat options for getting more iron. Here are 5 of my favorites!

1. Spinach
Popeye would love eating at my house these days. One of my favorite ways to prepare it is to wilt baby spinach with garlic in olive oil. Yum!

2. Oatmeal
This breakfast staple is not only high in iron, but it can also help with milk production if you’re pregnant or a new mom.

3. Maple Syrup
Who knew, right? I say, add some syrup to your oatmeal to double your breakfast iron money!

4. Sweet Potatoes
Swap out your baked potato for a baked sweet potato at dinner! Or make sweet potato fries to share with your kids!

5. Dried Apricots
Tasty, healthy, portable, and iron rich, these little treats are also good for helping with constipation. Don’t ask me how I know that. Just trust me.

Here is a list of our links.

Comments are closed.