Dr Akilah – Celestial Healing Wellness Center

The Natural Health and Holistic World According to Dr Akilah

How I Took 10 Years Off My Face

By Mara Kofoed 

It’s just too effective. It’s too dang transformative. 

No, we are not talking about all that happiness and love stuff. 

We’re talking about how to look younger. How to reduce wrinkles. How to say goodbye to that haggardly, dry-patchy, red, splotchy skin. 
And how to stop googling “how to unclog pores.” 

You better believe I have tried every product on the market. All of them. Prescription products, too. And so-called natural wonders. And Clarisonic-dermabrasion-chemical peel “miracles”. 

But nothing – nothing – ever changed my skin more than this… 

I went dairy-free. 

This single tweak in my diet has changed my skin and appearance so dramatically that I feel like a new woman. 

It all started when my doctor did an allergy test and said I had a dairy sensitivity. Who knew? I sure didn’t. I never had any of the common symptoms, other than a lot of inflammation on my face (and likely throughout my body, unbeknownst to me.) 

Since going dairy-free, I actually look in the mirror sometimes and can’t believe that I have THAT skin. I have the skin that I always stared at and coveted on my gorgeous European friends. It may not be quite exactly like theirs, since I have years of damage from bad skin, but for me, my skin has never been clearer, brighter, and happier, and I’ll take it. 

And – pinch-me-now – sometimes I don’t even wear foundation like all those women I secretly envied. 

Now, getting there required a cold turkey approach. 100 percent. If I ever have a morsel of dairy – I’ll admit that it’s hard to resist ice cream sometimes – I just brace myself for my old skin. It comes back in a jiffy. The next day I’ll look at the mirror and see the pores. I’ll see the uneven color. I’ll see the inflammation. I’ll look older. 

If you’re not totally happy with your skin, I can’t recommend enough going dairy-free. In fact, some doctors believe going dairy-free could be a way to beat acne all together. According to Dr. Frank Lipman, “in 2009, a systematic review of 21 observational studies and six clinical trials found clear links between acne and dairy. Two large controlled trials found that cow’s milk increased both the number of people who got acne and its severity.” (You can read Dr. Lipman’s very informative article here.) 

Be warned that you might feel withdrawal symptoms when you stop eating dairy (headache, anxiety, jitters, and depression are all common side effects). I did. I felt like a drug junkie. Not that I know what that feels like. But my doctor said that’s what I should expect, and I was committed to carrying through with it. My advice is to stock up on almond milk and coconut milk ice cream (the peanut butter swirl is amazing.) Believe me – things may just get a lot better! 

Note: Going dairy-free worked for me, but make sure (as always) to consult your doctor before making any major changes to your diet. 

 

Here is a list of our links.

3 responses to “How I Took 10 Years Off My Face

  1. Jen June 13, 2012 at 10:01 am

    Also, replacing all your bath and beauty product with food products and getting rid of all those chemicals will help. Here’s a brief list or alternatives to a few of the most common items in your bath routine:

    http://blackhelicopterclub.blogspot.com/2012/02/revised-bathroom-products.html?m=1

  2. Juan Diego VF June 13, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    i read 14 pages of your blog! awesome information! i applied many tips😉

