Dr Akilah – Celestial Healing Wellness Center

The Natural Health and Holistic World According to Dr Akilah

Ask Dr Akilah – December 2011

Hello Everyone,

If you have a question for me please feel free to ask it here in the comment section and I’ll answer it. I’ll either answer behind your comment or start a new post with your question and my answer in it. So ask away!

14 responses to “Ask Dr Akilah – December 2011

  1. Miley December 15, 2010 at 3:48 am

    Dr Akilah is it true that Green Tea will help you lose weight? My cousin swears by it and she said that she lost 10lbs just by drinking the 5 cups throughout the day especially when she is hungry. She said that it’s good as a meal replacement. It doesn’t seem like enough for me. Can you please let me know what you think?

    Miley

  2. docakilah December 15, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    If your cousin lost 10lbs I am positive it’s not from the effects of Green Tea. It sounds like she is using Green Tea to replace some of her meals. Therefore, she has decreased her caloric intake by 40 – 60%. That alone will encourage the body to drop pounds. She could replace each meal with a small chocolate shake and still get the same results. Is this healthy? Absolutely not and 99% of the time the weight will come back as soon as she starts eating regularly meals again.

    The reason why Green Tea is such a fade right now is because of the calorie-burning properties of EGCG that promotes increase thermogenesis. Greet Tea has EGCG in it. What the experts aren’t telling you is that there isn’t a substantial amout of EGCG (Epigallocatechin gallate) to promote weight loss. People will start drinking it (and it does taste good) and notice that their extra pounds isn’t going any where. Will they stop? Of course not. Most people believe that drinking Green Tea is better than nothing. It’s like those people who go to McDonald’s and order one Big Mac, one cheeseburger, two Large Fries and a DIET COKE!

    Green Tea will not promote weight loss.

  3. Marak December 16, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Hey Doc! Marak here. Just got some bad news from physician today. I have been diagnosed with Osteopenia.
    I want to avoid medicaiton at all cost if possible. Do you think driking half a gallon or milk everyday will regenate my bone density? Which do you suggest…………whole milk or skin milk?

    • docakilah December 17, 2010 at 3:50 pm

      Osteopenia is just a precursor to osteoporosis but it doesn’t mean you’ll get osteoporosis so don’t panic. Your bone density is just below normal and milk will not improve it. As a matter of fact it will make it worst. I am against milk from the cow. It’s not meant for human consumption and it has never boost bone density levels. It does the opposite. Read more about that here http://www.celestialhealing.net/milkpage.htm

      If you want to improve the bone density in your body you can start by doing several things.
      1. Eat foods high in calcium and magnesium. Such as; dark leafy vegetables. Kale, turnip greens, broccoli, brussel sprouts and cabbage are rich sources of calcium. fish, (such as salmon, sardines and mackere)l. The foods high in magnesium are: almonds, cashews, pumpkin seeds and brazil nuts are some good choices. Barley, quinoa and whole-wheat flour are others. Swiss chard, spinach and white and black beans

      2. Lift Weights. Research has shown that weight training improves bone density by 40%. Men and women who have started weight training in their 40’s did not suffer from bone fractures or hip replacement surgery in their elder years.

      3. Take a natural Calcium/Magnesium supplement. Make sure the supplement is 2-part Calcium and 1 part Magnesium so that your body absorbs it effectively.

      4. Stop drinking Cow’s Milk. (enough said)

      Do this for one year and you’re bone density will be back to normal. Mark my words.

  4. Mrs Mable December 16, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    Is Apple Cedar Vinegar good for Arthritis?

    • docakilah December 17, 2010 at 3:59 pm

      Yes. People who have Arthritis have a large storage of acid in their muscles and joints. Too much acid can create acid crystals, which cause extreme pain, deformity and decreased movement. Apple Cider Vinegar is very alkalizing so this will definitely help when taken internally.

      For the average person I would suggest taking 1 tablespoon of Apple Cider Vinegar, one teaspoon or honey, mix into an 8ox glass of filtered water and drink daily.

  5. Peggy Marie December 26, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    My child has a bad case of ADD and it seems to be getting worst. What do you think bout putting him on a mild dosage of ritalin? Or keeping him on a regular dosage until they find a cure?

    • docakilah January 4, 2011 at 1:31 pm

      Hi Peggy, I’m a naturopathic doctor so I am not a fan of “doping” your child on harmful drugs (medications). If your child is suffering from ADD it’s diet related. I suggest you take your child to the nearest Naturopathic Doctor for an herbal and food regimen to cure him or her of ADD. If there is none in your area then feel free to contact my office to set up either a phone or online consultation. Our office number is 770-603-0141

  6. sid August 27, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    Hello Dr. Akilah,
    I had Umbilical hernia surgery on April 17 2011. I developed one blood clot in my right leg below the knee and 2 clots on each lung. I have never had blood issues before this surgery. I was placed on coumidan (Warfarin) since that time & my INR (blood test level) has never reached over 2.0. My new doctor of only 1 week, informed me I can stop taking the medication, but she did not give me any information on what to do next. I am so affraid to stop taking the medicine because I have no idea whether it is the right thing to do. Please help. sid

    • docakilah August 27, 2011 at 9:06 pm

      Sid you need to make an appointment to see a Naturopathic Doctor in person. If you are in the Atlanta area then you can call my office to see me personally. If you are not in the Atlanta, GA area then you need to find a naturopath in your area and see him or her ASAP.

      You will not get the help you need over the internet. You need to consult with a natural health care professional face to face if you wish to go the natural route.

      Dr Akilah

  7. Elegant December 12, 2011 at 4:15 am

    Hello Dr Akilah, My name is Elegant and I am having a horrible problem, a little vain, non the less a problem for me. I have been having on and off hair thinning/breakage episodes for about ten years, on the crown of my head. In the beginning, I figured it was from the high pony tail hairstyles I wore. So I started to wear my hair in more tensionless hair styles and It grew back.While I was pregnant with my second child, it grew tremendously.I decided to start birth control after I had my baby girl, That experience left me with a gross amount of breakage, not only on my crown, but the left back side of my head. My hair was literally less then 1/2 short in those areas. I became depressed at the time so my husband suggest that I stopped the birth control. I did, and my hair grew back and my depression went away. Since then my hair breaks like that every 1-2 years. I cant seem to keep the growth in the crown area of my head. I have done so much research on that type of hair loss and I’m coming to an end on what to do about it. I was excited when I saw your youtube video on cayenne pepper because I just started a new natural regimen that involves cayenne pepper and rosemary infused EVOO. I’m seeing fast growth but not really in the crown area! whats wrong with me? I feel like I’ve tried everything, I want to try you hair growth herbs but I can’t take anymore disappointments! HELP ME PLEASE! sorry for the long comment:)

    • docakilah December 12, 2011 at 8:44 am

      Hi Elegant, no worries on the long comment. It was important for you to say this as a means of venting and believe it or not……………..that’s very therapeutic so no need to apologize.

      I highly suggest you give my hair growth and repair supplement a try. It’s good for repairing the scalp in the crow and edges of your head and promotes hair growth. If you want to see fast growth in your crown area this product is for you. Another perk is that you only need ONE BOTTLE for the results you’re looking for. I have a lot of women who buy this product and they notice their hair growing like wild fire midway through their first bottle. I created this formula to target hair growth and you’ll get the same results as the others.

      Here is the link to my supplement page.
      http://www.celestialhealing.net/herbalproducts.htm

      When it works for you please come back to my blog and leave a testimony.

      your servant in health

      Doc Akilah

  8. Symbol December 23, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    Hello Dr Akilah, I am so glad to have found your website. Last year on Christmas I woke up with a numb ear and realized that after I had showered. It felt like my ear still had water in it but when I stuck my pinky finger in my ear it was numb there was no sensation. It was like that for four days and then I went to my GP and he said I might have an infection and was prescribed antibiotics for 5 days. The ear was still numb and then I started having dizziness, was falling all over the place and spinning. It was horrible so I went to and ENT who said I had sudden hearing loss due to a virus and put me on prednisone for a week. I was still nursing my 1 1/2 old boy too. So I had a bunch or Mri’s and everything came back normal. But the spinning and falling got worst and it felt like my my heart was beating in my head. But during this time I took two rounds of high doses of antibiotics specifically penicillin and would get better but then revert back to spinning, ringing in the ear and dizziness and numbness in my head and neck. When i say numbness it is as you split the head in half and from the tip of the nose to the including the face and the nape of the neck was all numb. Since then for about a year I have been seeing a chiropractor and in the past two months the dizziness and numbness has finally reduced but still there is a throb and pressure above my left ear specifically the area where one could put the hair behind the ear. I have seen seven doctors and all of them say it is sudden hearing loss but the sypmtoms come and go and I donot understand if it is a virus by now the effects should go away but I still feel there is swelling inside my left temporal area above the ear. Lately I have notice that my hands and calves are shaky. Hands shake when I am trying to sew but calves have slight shakiness when only walking down the steps. Was seeing what you suggest? I do not have a Naturopath in the area any advice will be appreciated. Sorry about the long comment but to me seems like Western medicine has no answers for me.

    • docakilah December 23, 2011 at 9:53 pm

      Hi,

      Your situation sounds serious and I never give blind advice or suggestions in a case like this. Since there isn’t a ND in your area please contact my wellness center during business hours to schedule a phone consultation with me.

      thanks and talk to you soon,

      Dr Akilah

